Confused about how certain cards interact? Want to clarify a ruling you’ve overheard at an event? At TAK Games, we’re here to help! Each week, we’ll feature a selection of questions that have been overheard at tournament events or sent in to the blog.
Does Blue Protective Mastery change how Most Powerful Personality Victory (MPPV) works?
No. Blue Protective Mastery only changes how much anger you need to advance a personality level. Winning the game is not advancing a personality level.
Namekian Narrow Escape says “All Styled energy attacks cost -1 stage to perform this combat, to a minimum of 1.” Does this include my opponent’s attacks?
As the card states All Styled Energy attacks, this block’s secondary effect benefits both players.
I’m on 4 anger and I play Red Power Rush. Is the attack unstoppable by Physical Combat cards?
This is a question of timing. All effects on cards occur in the order in which they are written. You attack with Red Power Rush, pay any costs, raise your anger 1 which will mean you advance a personality level (unless your opponent is using the Blue Protective Mastery) and set your anger to 0. When Red Power Rush checks your anger level, you no longer fulfill the requirements to make the attack unstoppable.
My opponent is using Namekian Knowledge Mastery and I have played a Dragon Ball. Do I destroy the top card of my Life Deck before or after I use the immediate effects of my Dragon Ball?
Trigger events occur after using card effects. You will destroy the top card of your Life Deck after you have used the Dragon Ball’s power.
Is “using a critical damage effect” the same as “dealing critical damage”?
They are different. Dealing critical damage is one way to access the ability to use a critical damage effect.
Thanks for reading! If you have a rules question, you can tweet them to us at Twitter @TAKGames_au, ask via our Facebook page or post on the Dragonball Z TCG Australia Facebook Group. Questions asked may feature in a future edition of the TAK Dragon Ball Z TCG Rulings Corner.
Thanks to guest writer, Barry Diwell (@ThatDamnAussie) for helping collate rulings questions and answers. Answers are checked with Panini prior to being published.
– Kyp (@justkyp).